Modular kitchens are priced per sq ft of cabinet area, not floor area. Published 2026 rates, worked examples for a 10 ft straight and an L kitchen, and what quotes leave out.
Modular kitchen prices in India are quoted per sq ft of cabinet area, the length of each run of cabinets multiplied by its height, not per sq ft of kitchen floor. Rates published by design firms in 2026 run from about ₹800 per sq ft for a basic laminate kitchen in Kolkata to ₹4,000 to ₹6,000 and more for premium finishes, so a 10 ft straight kitchen with about 41 sq ft of cabinets costs roughly ₹0.9 to ₹1.7 lakh for the cabinets alone at HomeLane's published Hyderabad basic to mid rates, before the countertop, appliances and site work.
About the numbers below: the per sq ft figures are a market range taken from rates firms have published on their own websites: HomeLane's city guides for Hyderabad (29 Jan 2026), Bhubaneswar and Kolkata (both 23 Feb 2026), the Interior Company cost calculator (undated), Godrej Properties (6 May 2025) and DesignCafe's Delhi guide (28 May 2026), all read on 21 Oct 2026. They are firms' published estimates, not quotes, and they include different things. The worked examples use illustrative heights and the HomeLane Hyderabad bands only to show the arithmetic. No figure here is "the price" of a kitchen; get itemised quotes for yours.
Each firm publishes its own bands for its own city and finishes. Here is what five of them say.
| Source and date | Basis stated | Published rate per sq ft |
|---|---|---|
| HomeLane, Hyderabad (Jan 2026) | "Running cabinetry area, not floor size" | Basic ₹2,200 to ₹2,800; mid ₹2,800 to ₹4,000; premium ₹4,000+ |
| HomeLane, Bhubaneswar (Feb 2026) | Cabinet area, not floor area | Low ₹2,100 to ₹2,700; mid ₹2,800 to ₹3,800; premium ₹4,000 to ₹5,500+ |
| HomeLane, Kolkata (Feb 2026) | Not stated | About ₹800 for laminate; over ₹1,200 for premium finishes |
| Interior Company calculator (undated) | Not stated | Laminate ₹1,800 to ₹2,800; membrane ₹2,500 to ₹3,500; acrylic ₹3,000 to ₹4,500; PU ₹4,000 to ₹6,000+ |
| Godrej Properties blog (May 2025) | Not stated | Straight from ₹800; L-shaped ₹3,500 to ₹5,000 |
Sources: HomeLane Hyderabad, HomeLane Bhubaneswar, HomeLane Kolkata, Interior Company, Godrej Properties.
Three things explain the spread: the city (HomeLane's entry bands for Kolkata and Hyderabad differ by more than double), the finish, and the scope. HomeLane's Bhubaneswar ranges usually include cabinets, shutters, standard hardware, factory production, delivery and installation, while Interior Company says countertops are often listed separately. Two quotes at the same rate can buy different kitchens.
HomeLane's Bhubaneswar guide puts it plainly: most providers calculate cost on cabinet area rather than floor area, so cabinet length and height matter more than the size of the room. In practice a quote works like this:
Some firms quote per running foot instead, which is simply the length along the wall. The two are linked by height: rate per running foot = rate per sq ft × unit height. At ₹2,200 per sq ft, a base unit 2.75 ft high works out to ₹6,050 per running foot, and a 2 ft wall unit to ₹4,400. Convert every quote to the same unit before you compare.
Before you accept the square footage on a quote, ask three questions (our guidance, from how these quotes are built):
One 10 ft wall, base units 2.75 ft high, wall units 2 ft high, 3 ft left clear for the chimney. The heights are illustrative.
| Item | Measurement | Area |
|---|---|---|
| Base units | 10 ft × 2.75 ft | 27.5 sq ft |
| Wall units | 7 ft × 2 ft | 14 sq ft |
| Cabinet area | 41.5 sq ft | |
| Countertop (separate) | 10 ft × 2 ft | 20 sq ft of slab |
At HomeLane's Hyderabad basic to mid bands of ₹2,200 to ₹4,000 per sq ft, the cabinets come to about ₹91,300 to ₹1,66,000. The kitchen's floor, say 10 × 7 ft, is 70 sq ft; a rate multiplied by floor area means nothing.
With 2 ft deep base units, the corner square belongs to both walls. Count it once and the base run is 10 + 6 = 16 ft, not 18 ft.
| Item | Measurement | Area |
|---|---|---|
| Base units | 16 ft × 2.75 ft | 44 sq ft |
| Wall units | 16 ft, less 3 ft chimney and 3 ft window = 10 ft × 2 ft | 20 sq ft |
| Cabinet area | 64 sq ft | |
| Countertop (separate) | 16 ft × 2 ft | 32 sq ft of slab |
At the same ₹2,200 to ₹4,000 per sq ft, that is about ₹1,40,800 to ₹2,56,000 for the cabinets. Counting the corner on both walls adds 5.5 sq ft, or ₹12,100 to ₹22,000, for cabinetry that does not exist. For comparison, HomeLane's Kolkata guide gives roughly ₹1.5 lakh to ₹3.8 lakh and upwards for an 8 × 10 ft L-shaped kitchen, depending on finishes and accessories. Which layout suits your room is covered in our guide to modular kitchen layouts.
The carcass is the box behind the shutter. HomeLane's Bhubaneswar guide ranks treated MDF or particle board as the cheapest, BWP or BWR plywood as costlier but longer lasting, and HDHMR as a hybrid. Its Kolkata guide lists 18 mm board at about ₹60 to ₹120 per sq ft for MDF, ₹90 to ₹160 for BWP plywood and ₹140 to ₹220 for marine plywood.
On grades, CenturyPly describes MR plywood (IS 303) as moisture resistant but not waterproof and not the best choice for kitchens, and recommends BWR or BWP (IS 710) there. Greenply describes HDHMR (high density high moisture resistant board) as typically priced between standard MDF and BWP plywood, and advises checking for IS 14587 compliance and sealing cut edges. Ask for the grade and the IS number on the quote, especially for the sink cabinet.
This is the biggest visible jump. The Interior Company calculator lists laminate at ₹1,800 to ₹2,800 per sq ft, membrane at ₹2,500 to ₹3,500, acrylic at ₹3,000 to ₹4,500 and PU paint at ₹4,000 to ₹6,000 and more. HomeLane's Bhubaneswar guide ranks them in the same order: laminate, then acrylic, then PU. Finishes and colours in fashion now are in our kitchen trends 2027 post.
Hinges, drawer channels and lift-up fittings decide how the kitchen feels after five years. Ask the quote to name the brand and model, and whether soft-close covers hinges and drawers alike. For scale, IKEA India lists a 60 × 80 cm METOD base cabinet with one high-gloss door, hinges with a built-in damper and a shelf at ₹17,700 including taxes, with legs (₹500), plinth, handle, delivery and assembly extra. That is about ₹3,400 per sq ft of face for one cupboard, a published retail price rather than a kitchen quote.
Check whether the slab is inside the per sq ft rate or a separate line. HomeLane's Kolkata guide lists granite at ₹160 to ₹350 per sq ft and quartz at ₹280 to ₹450. On those figures, the L-shaped example's 32 sq ft would be about ₹5,100 to ₹11,200 in granite or ₹9,000 to ₹14,400 in quartz, before edge profiles and sink and hob cut-outs.
HomeLane's Kolkata and Bhubaneswar guides both list pull-outs, corner mechanisms and tall pantry units as add-ons that raise the final number. A tall unit adds a lot of cabinet area in one go, plus its baskets.
Assume they are not included. HomeLane's city guides price chimneys, hobs, ovens and dishwashers separately, and Godrej Properties tells readers to budget for hobs, chimneys, sinks and faucets on top. A modular kitchen with chimney is two purchases: the cabinetry and the appliance, plus its ducting.
HomeLane says design, production, delivery and installation are part of its package, but that electrical and plumbing changes are charged separately when significant changes are needed. DesignCafe's Delhi guide warns that removing old units, plumbing and electrical changes, minor civil work and delivery or access charges can add 10 to 20% if they are not in the first quote.
Ask whether the rate includes GST and which rate is applied. The GST Council's 56th meeting moved India to a standard rate of 18% and a merit rate of 5% for goods from 22 September 2025. In its list of goods moving from 12% to 5%, the only furniture named is furniture wholly made of bamboo, cane or rattan. Wooden and board kitchen cabinets are not on that list, so do not assume the 5% rate; ask for the HSN code and GST rate to be printed on the quote and the tax invoice.
A small kitchen costs less in total because it has fewer sq ft of cabinets, but the rate per sq ft does not fall with size, and the sink, hob and hardware do not shrink. Published totals give a sense of scale:
For a small kitchen, the way to save is in the specification, not the layout: laminate rather than acrylic or PU on the shutters, fewer pull-out accessories, and one tall unit instead of two. For whole-flat budgets, see our interior design cost guide, room by room.
For a fuller budget, MOA's free home cost calculator prices interiors item by item, with the kitchen by its shape and size at the grade you choose. If you are also placing the stove and sink, our vastu for kitchen post covers direction.
Published rates run from about ₹800 per sq ft for laminate in Kolkata, through ₹2,100 to ₹4,000 for basic and mid-range kitchens in Hyderabad and Bhubaneswar, to ₹6,000 and more for premium PU. The rate applies to cabinet area and varies by city, material and scope.
By cabinet area: the length of each run of base, wall and tall units multiplied by its height, times the rate per sq ft. The countertop, appliances, site work and sometimes GST are added separately. A per running foot rate is the per sq ft rate multiplied by the unit height.
It depends on the cabinets, not the 100 sq ft of floor. As an illustration, an L on two 10 ft walls with the corner counted once has an 18 ft base run (49.5 sq ft at 2.75 ft high); add 12 ft of 2 ft wall units (24 sq ft) and you have about 73.5 sq ft, or roughly ₹1.6 to ₹2.9 lakh for cabinets at ₹2,200 to ₹4,000 per sq ft, before the countertop and appliances.
Usually not. HomeLane's city guides price appliances such as chimneys, hobs, ovens and dishwashers separately, and Godrej Properties advises budgeting for hobs, chimneys, sinks and faucets on top of the cabinets.
Sometimes. HomeLane's Bhubaneswar guide says GST is included in its project cost, along with installation; many rate pages do not say either way. Since the September 2025 rate changes, India's standard GST rate is 18%, and only furniture wholly of bamboo, cane or rattan moved to 5%. Ask for the rate and HSN code on the quote.
Planning a kitchen? Find interior designers on MOA and filter the directory by your city: browse interior designers.